Travel to Indonesia – Tours to the islands east of the Wallace Line

The Malay Archipelago, which is largely comprised of present day Indonesia and several other Southeast Asian states, is an amazing geographic phenomenon in one of the most volcanically active regions of the world. While Indonesia has already established itself as an international travel destination, the majority of its visitors only touch a few corners of this impressive region, typically the business and tourism magnets of Java and Bali.

It is rewarding to travel a little further east, crossing the Wallace Line to discover a wonderful world of natural beauty, cultural diversity and unique wildlife. The Wallace Line, named after the 19th-century naturalist Alfred Russel Wallace, runs between Borneo and Sulawesi, and continues between Bali and Lombok, describing the biogeographical dividing line that transcends travelers to a new fauna-rich, biodiverse landscape, that offers many endemic species.

East of the Wallace Line is an island realm far beyond the main tourist spots with an incredible wealth of nature and culture. Travel east of the Wallace Line to discover an archipelago which invites island hopping between thousands of islands with countless secluded beaches, diving into the best diving and snorkeling areas in the world. But it is also a region with incomparable fauna and biodiversity on land and under water, with volcanoes that are among the most active on earth, with dense jungle areas and their fascinating aboriginal inhabitants and a surprising richness of cultural diversity. Indonesia East of the Wallace Line is fascinating and full of adventure, so do not be surprised if it keeps drawing you back there again and again …

Travel to East-Indonesia

Travel to the exotic and touristically barely developed island world of East Indonesia and immerse yourself in your individual adventure.
Fort Tolukko, Ternate, Northern Moluccas, Spice Islands

Ternate

As one of the islands of origin of the clove tree, Ternate offers a rich cultural heritage due to its fascinating island history. Although a tiny place, it is the heart of and the gateway to the island world of the North Moluccas. Let yourself be enchanted and join our Culture & Nature Tour to Ternate.

Clove groves with a view, Tidore, Northern Moluccas, Spice Islands

Tidore

Tidore’s landscape is dominated by a volcanic mountain. Clove and nutmeg groves line the hillsides alongside sleepy villages, giving the island a peaceful atmosphere, 500 years after playing a pivotal role in the first circumnavigation of the world. Start your Tidore adventure and enjoy pure nature.

Secluded island life, Morotai, Northern Moluccas, Spice Islands

Morotai

Pacific terminus: Morotai is densely forested, with numerous rivers, lonely white beaches and surrounded by many small offshore islands. Its perfect location in the centre of the coral triangle and on the Pacific rim makes it a paradise for diving and surfing. Discover Morotai on one of our tours.

Sunset at the foot of Gamkonora, Halmahera, Northern Moluccas, Spice Islands

Halmahera

Halmahera stands out through its great diversity in both culture and nature. A multi-ethnic population, native tribes with their century-old traditions, a fascinating landscape, numerous endemic bird species and active volcanoes make up the charm of this island. Discover Halmahera!

View of Lokon Volcano, Tomohon, North Sulawesi

Sulawesi North

Sulawesi’s north offers countless things worth seeing. In addition to a breathtaking landscape with active volcanoes and nature parks with numerous endemic animal species, an equally diverse underwater world with great visibility is waiting to be explored. Join our Minhasa & Tangkoko Adventure.

Settlement with church in the Toraja Highlands, Sulawesi

Sulawesi Toraja

In addition to their impressive architecture, the Toraja also stand out from other ethnic groups in their extraordinary cultural characteristics. Their unique customs make a visit unforgettable. Immerse yourself in their fabulous cultural heritage and discover the world of the Toraja!

Indonesia’s region East of Wallace on the map

East of Wallace

East Indonesia: News, discoveries & travelogues

Indonesien Reisen – Touren zu den Inseln östlich der Wallace Line

Der malaiische Archipel, der sich größtenteils aus dem heutigen Indonesien und verschiedenen anderen südostasiatischen Staaten zusammensetzt, ist ein erstaunliches geografisches Phänomen in einer der vulkanisch aktivsten Regionen der Erde. Während sich Indonesien bereits als eine internationale Reisedestination etabliert hat, streift der größte Teil der Besucher jedoch lediglich einige Ecken dieser beeindruckenden Region, typischer Weise die Geschäfts- und Tourismusmagnete Java und Bali.

Dabei ist es lohnend, noch ein klein wenig weiter ostwärts zu reisen, dabei die Wallace Line zu überqueren und damit eine wundervolle Welt natürlicher Schönheit, kultureller Vielfalt und einzigartiger Tierwelt zu entdecken. Die Wallace Line, benannt nach dem im 19. Jahrhundert lebenden Naturforscher Alfred Russel Wallace, verläuft zwischen Borneo und Sulawesi und weiter zwischen Bali und Lombok und beschreibt die biogeografische Trennlinie, deren Überschreitung den Reisenden in ein neues Fauna-Reich führt, das von hoher Biodiversität geprägt ist und mit sehr vielen endemischen Arten aufwarten kann.

Indonesien östlich der Wallace Line ist ein Inselreich fernab vom Touristenstrom mit einem unglaublichen Reichtum an Natur und Kultur. Östlich der Wallace Line eröffnet sich ein Archipel, der nicht nur zum Island-Hopping einlädt, mit tausenden von Inseln mit unzähligen einsamen Stränden, die eintauchen in die besten Tauch- und Schnorchelgebiete der Welt. Es ist auch die Region mit einer unvergleichlichen Fauna und Artenvielfalt unter Wasser und an Land, mit Vulkanen, die zu den aktivsten der Erde zählen sowie mit dichten Dschungelgebieten und ihren faszinierenden Ureinwohnern und einem überraschenden kulturellen Facettenreichtum. Indonesien östlich der Wallace Line ist faszinierend und ist Abenteuer, und es sollte daher nicht überraschen, wenn es Dich immer wieder dorthin zurückzieht…

Reisen nach Ost-Indonesien

Reise mit uns in die exotische und touristisch kaum erschlossene Inselwelt von Ost-Indonesien und tauche in Dein individuelles Abenteuer ein.

Fort Tolukko, Ternate, nördliche Molukken, Gewürzinseln

Ternate

Als eine der Ursprungsinseln des Nelkenbaums blickt Ternate mit seiner unglaublich faszinierenden Insel-Geschichte auf ein reichhaltiges kulturelles Erbe. Obwohl ein eher kleiner Ort, ist Ternate das Zentrum und Tor zur Inselwelt der nördlichen Molukken. Lass Dich von Ternate auf unserer Culture & Nature Tour bezaubern.

Nelkenhaine mit Aussicht, Tidore, nördliche Molukken, Gewürzinseln

Tidore

Tidores Landschaftsbild wird von einem Vulkanberg dominiert. Ausgedehnte Nelken- und Muskatnusshaine säumen die Hänge neben verschlafenen Dörfern und verleihen der Insel eine friedliche Atmosphäre, die vor 500 Jahren eine tragende Rolle in der ersten Weltumsegelung spielte. Starte Dein Tidore-Abenteuer und genieße Natur pur.

Abgeschiedenes Inselleben, Morotai, nördliche Molukken, Gewürzinseln

Morotai

Endstation Pazifik: Morotai präsentiert sich stark bewaldet, mit zahlreichen Flüssen, einsamen weißen Stränden und umgeben von vielen kleinen Inseln. Seine prominente Lage im Zentrum des Korallendreiecks sowie am Pazifikrand gelegen macht die Insel zu einem interessanten Tauch- und Surfgebiet. Entdecke Morotai auf einer unserer Touren.

Sonnenuntergang am Fuße des Gamkonora, Halmahera, Molukken, Gewürzinseln

Halmahera

Halmaheras Natur und Kultur sind ausgesprochen vielfältig. Diverse ethnische Volksgruppen, Ureinwohner mit ihren jahrhundertealten Traditionen sowie eine faszinierende Unterwasserwelt, malerische Seen, zahlreiche endemische Vogelarten und aktive Vulkane machen den Charme dieser Insel aus. Entdecke Halmahera!

Ausblick auf den Vulkan Lokon, Tomohon, Nord-Sulawesi

Sulawesi-Nord

Sulawesis Norden hat Unzähliges an Sehenswertem zu bieten. Neben einer atemberaubenden Landschaft mit aktiven Vulkanen und Naturparks mit zahlreichen endemischen Tierarten findet sich dort eine ebenso diverse Unterwasserwelt mit sehr guten Sichtverhältnissen. Starte Deine Reise mit dem Minhasa & Tangkoko Abenteuer.

Siedlung mit Kirche im Toraja Hochland, Sulawesi

Sulawesi-Toraja

Abgesehen von ihrer außergewöhnlichen Architektur heben sich die Toraja auch in ihren sehr beeindruckenden kulturellen Merkmalen von anderen ethnischen Gruppen ab. Ihr einzigartiges Brauchtum macht einen Besuch unvergesslich. Tauche ein in ihr sagenhaftes kulturelles Erbe und entdecke die Welt der Toraja!

Indonesiens Region East of Wallace auf der Landkarte

East of Wallace